ANLTC Research Award 2016

Winning Entries

Winner – Johanna Archbold, RCSI / Michelle Breen, UL joint submission entitled ‘Amplifying CONUL’s voice: Exploring how Ireland’s research libraries can be ‘heard’ in national and international contexts’

Johanna Archbold

Johanna Archbold

Michelle Breen

Michelle Breen







2nd Place – Laura Connaughton, MU submission entitled ‘User Experience (UX) in Maynooth University (MU) Library’

3rd Place – Joseph Greene, UCD submission entitled ‘Establishing standards for measuring open content usage: How many times have our digital assets been used?’


The objective of this funding award, which is offered biennially, is to encourage practitioner-based research among librarians in CONUL member libraries. .  Funding can be used to defray research expenses such as travel, visits, attendance at meetings or other activities directly related to the research project.

Entries are welcomed from librarians, in CONUL member libraries, currently engaged in or wishing to undertake a research project. Research may be on any topic of relevance to the individual or their library.   Research proposals which have applicability to other CONUL libraries and support the CONUL Strategy 2016-2019 will be particularly welcome. The judging panel will be looking for an awareness of reflective practice and evidence-based practice, along with sound research methodology.


Previous Awards

2012:   the Award went to Joshua Clark and Rosalind Pan of University College Dublin for their research project “Strategic mobile library development: the place of library apps and the options for creating them.”

2009:   the Award went to Caleb Derven, University College Dublin, for his proposal Evaluating Services and Specifications for Reading List Systems.

2007:   the winner was Siobhan Dunne, Dublin City University for her study, Local Community Engagement: extending the role of the academic library to meet the university’s mission.

2016: ANLTC Library Assistant Award  – Blog Competition

The 2016 ANLTC Library Assistant Award required entrants to submit a blog post on any library related topic. Entrants could opt to blog about any aspect of their current work for example training activities they undertook; a development in their own library or an item in their library’s collection. Prize winners were announced at the CONUL Conference on the 2nd June 2016. The prize winning and highly commended entries will all be published on the libfocus blog. A list of award winners and highly commended entries can be viewed at the link below:

CONUL ANLTC LA Award Results

2012: The ANLTC Poster competition attracted entries on a wide variety of library related topics.

Joint  first prize was awarded to Louise Saults, NUI Maynooth and Emily Doherty and Debra McCann, UCD.
The judging panel described Louise’s poster Kindles: Mobile Technology for Your Library
as “an excellent poster with high visual impact.”  (Available at  )

Emily and Debra’s poster, “What do you need to know today?”  UCD Library Roving Service was awarded joint first place. This was described, by the judging panel,  as ““an excellent poster with a high information content.” ( Available here)

Joint second prize was awarded to Helen O’Connor, NUI Maynooth  Self-service laptops at NUI Maynooth  (Available at )  and Bernie Gardiner and Della Webb, NUI Maynooth  Motivating Library Staff in Recessionary Times: Some Initiatives at NUI Maynooth
(Available at 0

Third prize was awarded to Bernie Mellon, NUI Maynooth  Disability Awareness Course in the Library, NUI Maynooth.   (Available at )

Competition rules and a Poster Toolkit document is available from ANLTC here.

To promote and support staff development, ANLTC offered the Library Assistant Bursary to an individual library staff member at Library Assistant or equivalent grade.  An award of up to €1,500  could be spent on travel, study, attendance at a conference or seminar or other relevant activities.  Recent winners were:

2009:   Maud Conry, National University of Ireland Galway –  E-book Update in Irish Academic Libraries – an Overview

2007:  Marie Cullen, National University of Ireland Maynooth – The British Library Digital Object Management Programme

2004:  Petra Shurenhofer, University College Dublin (report); joint runners-up, Andrea Mullen, St. Angela’s College, Sligo (constituent college of National University of Ireland Galway) and Louise Walsworth-Bell (National University of Ireland Maynooth)

2001:  Avril Patterson, University College Dublin (report); runner-up, Cecilia Kehoe, National University of Ireland Maynooth (report)

1997:  Irene Hennigan, Dublin City University